NikonWeb.com

Discuss old Nikon and Kodak DSLRs
[ NikonWeb.com - Nikon Historical Society ]
It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SS-E300 cable wanted!
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Voorburg, Holland
Hi friends,
I am looking for an SS-E300 cable (part of an optional SCSI Kit) with a full-pitch 50 pin male connector to connect a Nikon Coolpix 300 to a PC.
Offers please via my website www.nicovandijk.net
Thanks in advance.
Nico

_________________
D1/D1X/D1H etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Posts: 474
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Hi,

So, you want the actual Nikon cable, or just one that will work?

I do not have any form of Nikon-branded SCSI cable.

I do, however, have SCSI cables with the big, fat (what I think you mean by full-pitch) 50-pin connector that was borrowed from telephone equipment on one end. I have several options for the other end, from the matching big, fat 50-pin to the DB-25 that Macs used and several others.

Now, you might not want one of my cables, given what we know it costs to ship from me to you! :P

But, if I have something that works, you know you're welcome to it!

later!

Stan

_________________
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 981
Location: Norway
Here's a nice overview of different SCSI connectors: http://www.ramelectronics.net/scsi_connectors.ep

(I spent a long time studying these when I tried to make my Kodak DCS kit work..)

Jarle


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Voorburg, Holland
Hi Stan! Thanks for your reply.
I know the shipping fees, yes they can be very high.
I like to have a cable (of whatever brand) to connect the CP300 to a PC (DOS, not Mac). If you have a cable (other than the original Nikon cable) that fits the camera I'll find a solution for the connector at the other end of that cable. That 'end' seems to be a 'regular' SCSI-connector. And the camera manual doesn't show a cable with a special converter/filter in/on it, so..........
How much would you charge for it including shipping costs? You know I am not in a hurry, so if I could have that cable before Xmas, I am fine!
Again thanks,
regards,
Nico

_________________
D1/D1X/D1H etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Posts: 474
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Hi,

Maybe I'm missing something here.

Is there a special connector at the camera end, or is that where you have that big, fat 50-pin 'centronics' (from the now-defunct printer company that first started using this style of connector) connector??

Or, is the computer where you have the 50-pin centronics and you need something else at the camera end??

Usually, the SCSI-1 computer cards use a 25-pin DB-25 connector as the 50-pin Centronics is too large to fit thru the opening for the IBM PC style card slots. This is true for both the Mac and the IBM clones.

The difference is that the 50-pin is driven differentially whilst the 25-pin is driven common-mode (one ground for all signal lines). SCSI-1 can work either way, but the total length for cabling is reduced when one runs it in common-mode.

I was originally thinking that you needed a SCSI-1 cable that used the big, fat Centronics 50-pin connector on *both* ends. Those I have. Somewhere.l

I also have cables with the 68-pin SCSI-2 connectors, but that gets us into yet another whole discussion regarding SCSI and the cables....

If there's something else on the camera end, then I probably do not have it sitting and collecting dust on the Shelves of Obsolete Electronics.

Later!

Stan

_________________
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Voorburg, Holland
Thanks Stan & Jarle,
below a picture of the port of the CP300. It is the only Coolpix I know that doesn't use memory cards.
Image

The manual notes: 'the Coolpix 300 comes with a 9-pin RS-232C serial cable for connection to a male 9-pin serial connector for IBM-compatible PC's (..........); before attaching your camera to the computer's SCSI chain use the SS-E300 cable (part of the Nikon SCSI kit). The SS-E300 cable has a full-pitch 50 pin-male connector'.
If you want I can place some pictures of the manual but on Nikonusa the manual can be seen (pages 77-85).

The camera makes nice pictures for its 0.3 Mp. but there is no way to transfer them to a PC, other than using those cable(s). Unfortunately the camera was bought in the USA and works on a NTSC TV-set, so I have to tape the pictures first and replay them on my video-recorder which can take both NTSC & PAL tapes.

Thanks in advance.
Nico

_________________
D1/D1X/D1H etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Posts: 474
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Hi,

Well, that is not the 50-pin Centronics connector. It's much, much smaller.

There was a mini-connector for the SCSI cards on the IBM PS/2 series machines, but those are 'mini' only in reference to the Centronics connector. Even those are much larger than what you need.

After seeing the photo of what you have, I went and looked up the camera and it's much smaller than what I was thinking. I should have known, of course, that it would be small and have to use a tiny connector.

At first I thought it might use the same connector as the PCMCIA SCSI cards. Those I have a couple of, but those are even smaller than what you need.

So, it figures that with all the various SCSI cables I saved over the years that I come up blank.

Later!

Stan

_________________
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Voorburg, Holland
Hi Stan, again thanks!
I am so sorry that I do know nothing about cables. And I am also sorry that I cannot help you to get rid of your cables.
Let's hope someone else has that particular cable, that came in a Nikon SCSI Kit.
Regards,
Nico

_________________
D1/D1X/D1H etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Voorburg, Holland
BTW: wouldn't it be odd when Nikon invents its own connector? If it is an existing connector someone else must have marketed it, or.......?
Thanks & regards,
Nico

_________________
D1/D1X/D1H etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 981
Location: Norway
It's probably easier to use a serial cable than SCSI. And it's probably easier to find a serial cable, since it was included in the original kit (the SCSI cable was sold separately). Just a thought.

Jarle


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group