Nikon D1 error with CPU lens

Discuss Nikon E2, E3 (incl. Fujix DS-505, 515 and 56x models), the original Nikon D1 and other discontinued Nikon DSLRs. Ask questions, post general comments, anecdotes, reviews and user tips.
Post Reply
gsandberg
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:33 am
antispam: No
Location: Netherlands

Nikon D1 error with CPU lens

Post by gsandberg » Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:58 pm

Since a few days my old D1 shows some strange behaviour.
With a CPU lens, I get an Err message (after exposure or DOF check, but NOT when the lens is set to full open)
Also: even in manual exposure mode (metering by the camera) the exposure seems to be off (a few stops under-exposure).
With a trusty non-CPU lens all seems to be fine.
Yes, I do keep my CPU lenses locked to the smallest aperture.
I have cleaned all CPU contacts etc, and tested with several CPU lenses.
Anyone have a clue?
Regards, Gilbert

Stan Disbrow
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Nikon D1 error with CPU lens

Post by Stan Disbrow » Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:23 am

Hi,

Sounds like the signal between the lens mount contacts and the CPU have an issue. The D1 has flex film ribbons running to the boards, and they use plugs and sockets. Not an easy thing to get at, much less correct....

Stan
Amateur Photographer
Professional Electronics Development Engineer

gsandberg
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:33 am
antispam: No
Location: Netherlands

Re: Nikon D1 error with CPU lens

Post by gsandberg » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:44 am

Stan,
You may be right, if any plug or connection has loosened anything may happen (sad grin).
Regards, Gilbert

PS with a CPU lens (and f-ring on the minimum value) the camera makes the lens stop down regardless of the setting on the camera, resulting in under-exposure.

Post Reply