Pics now added - Time to share - Hawkeye ii

Discuss older Nikon-based Kodak digital SLRs, including DCS 100, DCS 200, NC2000, DCS 400/600/700-series, etc. Ask questions, post general comments, anecdotes, reviews and user tips.
lyndon.photo
antispam: No

Pics now added - Time to share - Hawkeye ii

Post by lyndon.photo »

Hi there,

been lurking for some time, and I think its time to step up to the plate and start sharing some stuff with you guys.

I'm a Press Photographer in Australia, and to keep myself poor, and my wife unhappy, I collect Nikons.

I believe that sharing information and knowledge is critical to our joint interest.

Was extremely lucky to obtain a Hawkeye ii a few months ago. I didnt think I would ever get to see one let alone own one...

Initially I was worried that the sensor seemed too large and that I had bought some sort of "mash-up".

However with incredible helpfulness of Ron Volmershausen, and his contact with the legendary Jim McGarvey he discovered it is actually an even rarer version of the Hawkeye ii, a Mono M3 sensor version.

Until this camera popped up the only known image of it was a small photocopied B/W picture in an US Defence paper (again found by the amazing Ron Vol!!)

This is what Jim has said to Ron about this particular camera:

"A B&W M3 back is a rare one. The 9036 date code on the voltage regulator dates it pretty late in the HEII timeframe.
...it is likely a camera that was sold to the Gov't. and not a Kodak leftover. We made a couple of those for the CIA, as a follow up project to the EO camera."

"I knew the FBI tested some of the cameras, but I didn't remember that they had any with the M3 sensor. I've never come up with a good total number of tethered HEIIs. I usually say I think we made a few dozen, and that's pretty ambiguous!"